'Even video conference won't help' -TOEFL- Face- to- face communication

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Face- to- face communication is better than other type of communication, such as letters, e-mail, or telephone calls. Use specific reasons and details to support your answers.

Efficient and effective human interaction can only be obtained by face- to- face communication. In contrast to letters, e-mail or telephone calls, which easily cause misunderstanding due to lack of direct contact, gesture and facial expressions immediately reveal the addresser's emotion and attitude. People not only exchange their ideas instantly and vividly by active interaction but also share their innermost feelings by warm hugs and support from beloved ones.

Indirect communication can misinterpret what people were saying in workplace and personal live as well, leading to conflicts or even more horrible consequences. Although E-mail is convenient, it often leaves us with too many questions lacking personality and context. The tight respond such as "Fine." can be read in many ways inferring to satisfaction or exasperation. Both words and voices as telephone calls can convey, mistakes still happen. One example was that medical professionals in Taiwan transplanted organ containing AIDS virus because the consultant misheard in phone communication that the inspection report was negative while the true results was reactive. Even videos cannot replace face-to-face communication. To couples who are separated, they can use Skype to watch and hear each other's face and voice, yet they can't warm each other with body temperature and affectionate embrace.

Bilateral interchanges have irreplaceable advantages of physical contact and instant interaction that eliminate misunderstanding caused by cold machines and mistakes contributed from distance. The one you are communicating with can, without delay, give you opportunities for discussing and exchanging ideas. The most important is that they can give a hug, a kiss, or a handkerchief that comfort people with actual reaction and immediate response.

In conclusion, face- to- face contact involves both perfect body language and tones of voices that decrease misunderstanding and soothe sadness as well as share happiness, which is better than other type of communication only conveying words, voices, and pictures.