IELTS task 2: video games provide harmless fun

Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, computer games are becoming a popular topic among kids. People have have different views about whether or not students should be encouraged to play them. My view is that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are three reasons why those conservative teachers are against video games. Firstly video games, especially multi-player online games, are completely time-consuming as students learn nothing by spending time playing meaningless games. In this way, video games can delay the development of a student's career in the futeure as he or she will not accquire sufficent skills such as interpersonal communication and mathmatics. Secondly, computer games is a main reason for the reduction of outdoor activities because students tend to contact each other in-game and less likely to have face to face interactionsl. Finally, compared to video games, there are other choices which are much more meaningful. For example, people who take painting and music as their hobbies tend to solve problems in a more creative and brillient way in contrast to those who spent all their time on computer games.

On the other hand, I would have to support various advantages that video games can offer. Firstly, multi-player online games provide the oppoturnity for kids to collaborate with other players as a team member. This may benefit their career development later as skills, such as social contact, are key requirments to enter large companies. Secondly, a lot of social network services providers, for example Facebook, have already intergrated onlie games into their own network systems. In other words, it is efficient and sometimes even necessary to maintain connections and make new friends online by playing games they provide. Finally, we can leverage computer games to improve the quality of education. Some famous online learning systems, which are extensively applied among high schools, are deliberately designed to be game-like in order to motivate students to work much harder by introducing subsystems from games such as experence bar and level-up system.

(For the 'finally' part, it is easier to talk something about contribution to the prosperity of Internet industry. But I would like to challenge myself by talking something difficult. I do not know if I made my point clear enough. The idea basically came from a talk: talks/seth_priebatsch_the_game_layer_on_top_of_the_world )

In conclusion, I think vedio games should not be banned at school due to several benefits that they can offer.

focus on grammars, guys!