Video Platforms - IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - AGREE OR DISAGREE?

QUESTION: Video records are a better way to learn about the way other people in the world live rather than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that video platforms provide a greater means to impart knowledge on how people live in many places than texts. From my point of view, although I agree that videos can create a more engaging learning experience, I believe written documents could compensate for certain setbacks of their counterparts.

On the one hand, learners could become more engaged in their areas of interest by the use of video materials. This is because videos offer viewers both visual and auditory inputs rather than solely abstract ideas delivered via texts. These stimulants not only describe the objects in the most authentic way but also make it easier for learners to visualise and retain information. For example, a video about a local festival would be far more effective than a written dissertation on the said subject in a sense that the former provides viewers with information about the music, the costumes, or the customs in a readily-acceptable fashion.

On the other hand, written records could emerge as a more convenient source in certain cases. Firstly, documents could save more time when learners need to conduct research on complex subjects. For instance, the economic developments of a country could better be encapsulated in a written analysis, since it deals with various abstract concepts. Researchers, in this case, would find it easier to read and use this later for reference. Secondly, videos are not always available due to their huge production effort. Obviously, when compared to this hard work, written records require much less, thus become more easily accessible.

In conclusion, videos could better enhance the learning experience as it helps visualising what life is in its nature. However, written documents make a better choice when it comes to complex and costly areas of studies.

Your comment is very much appreciated.