The view that providing free public transport could resolve traffic jams

solution for the traffic jams

The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argue that the multiple choice for national leaders to resolve the issue of traffic jam is allowing their inhabitants to access public transport free of charge in every time. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this view.

It is understandable why some might hold the view that free public transport could deal with the difficulties of traffic congestion. Their rationale is that when people do not have to pay to use these types of transport, they would use it more frequently and traffic congestion would no longer appear and as a consequence, this action could reduce heavy traffic in rush hours when the number of private vehicles is rising. However, I believe that this is a shortsighted view. In fact, this could lead to a shortage of public transport and buses and trains would become overcrowded. Thus, the government would have to channel their money into upgrade these means of transport, which could be a financial constraint for them because there are many sectors such as healthcare or education need this budget.

In addition, I am definitely convinced that traffic jam could be resolved if the authorities can ban several types of transports such as large trucks in certain time frames. Consequently, the number of vehicles on roads would be controlled effectively, which will ease the traffic flow. Another solution might be that the government should improve road systems by building roads wider and more flyovers, which could allow more vehicles to travel and help curb traffic jams.

In conclusion, there are sufficient grounds to reject the view that providing free public transport could resolve traffic jams. It is my genuine belief that a better option is to improve the road traffic.