There is a view that reporting about celebrities by media has negative influence on teenagers

Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree?

Owing to the huge media coverage of celebrities, there is a view that it has negative influence on teenagers. This essay will explain why I believe this statement is only true to a certain extent as such coverage does present some positives for children.

To begin with, a number of media channels broadcast and write about celebrity sightings which has indirectly lead to a fashion following culture. This is a problem because children being impressionable get attracted to such branded clothes and exotic dressing-sense to an extent that they want to copy it. It has been found several times that children demand their parents to buy matching dresses and branded shoes as they saw in clips on the news media. Consequently, it has now come to a point that children compete and argue with each other in an attempt to look superior by copying a celebrity. Conversely, if such pictures or videos were not broadcasted, children would have been happy with what they had.

However, I believe such news coverage of celebs does bring some positives, most important of which is following their idol. In other words, teenagers envy celebrities as their role-model and are highly influenced by them. As a good example, numerous media outlets publish about successful entrepreneur celebrities giving guidance on how to become successful like them. Another instance can be celebs teaching that everyone should respect older people. Such coverage provides a highly positive influence on youngsters to work hard and respect their elders. Evidently, it is a positive for individuals and society as a whole.

In brief, although reporting about celebrities by media present negatives in terms of blind fashion following by teenagers, I believe, it does hold the power to influence children positively to work-hard and respect elders.