By virtue of upgraded medical health care, individuals have longer longevity as a result...

Task 2: One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Improving medical care?

By virtue of upgraded medical health care, individuals have longer longevity as a result. Although this development has some positive consequences, I am of the opinion that its drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, it is believed that great medical care can bring some positive outcomes to people for some justifications. Firstly, it is undeniable that the quality of medical care plays an important role in people's health. For instance, two patients with the same disease but anyone cared by a better medical treatment might have chances to recuperate faster than the other. Secondly, regions or countries which have modern medical treatments can have more opportunities to develop their economic. In fact, foreigners or people from other areas might be attracted by this modern system and they can be willing to pay at high price to be served.

On the other hand, I am in favor of the idea that drawbacks of this development surpass the benefits. One reason for this view is that rising life expectancy can lead to grow up the rate of old population which might be not good for economic development. For example, a lack of young people who are primary labors in the future in Japan is one of the outcomes of population aging process. Another compelling reason for the idea is that people tend to rely on their modern medical care system instead of improving their health or keeping their body healthy by themselves. As a result, they might be less responsible and not take initiative with their health.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this problem are more remarkable than the advantages.