Should voluntary plastic surgery be banned?

Plastic surgery is a medical specialty concerned with correction and restoration of form and function. Although cosmetic surgery is the most famous plastic surgery, most plastic surgeries are not cosmetic surgeries. It also includes reconstructive surgery for example, reconstruction for cleft lip, traumatic injury and burn injury etc. If someone had congenital defects or was injured heavily especially on face and limbs, plastic surgery is necessary to restore the function and appearance.

Cosmetic surgery is a special kind of plastic surgery. The heart person of love of beauty all has it. Some people with the intention of maintaining normal appearance, restoring it and even enhancing it will risk going under the knife. Nowadays more and more normal person accept cosmetic surgery voluntarily toward aesthetic ideal. Surgery of double eyelid, tummy tuck, liposuction, boob job, nose lift are popular. And even some person will accept surgery of changing the shape of face, length of leg by operation on the bones. Most of them can achieve the satisfaction, delight and regain their self confidence from the operation changing the appearance. Therefore cosmetic surgery is not only medical techniques toward physical problem but also for psychological problem. Make beauty to cure soul is familiar slogan in advertisement of cosmetic surgery hospitals.

Though cosmetic surgery gives another way to help people to get rid of self-contempt, it might cause cosmetic surgery obsession. Some person are preoccupied with what they regard as defects in their faces and bodies. And most of them are probably unsatisfied with the result of the surgery. They go under the knife time after time until doctor dare not to perform. They suffer from psychological disorder which cosmetic surgery can not cure or even will make it worse.

Plastic surgery is one of the techniques we have in modern society. Like many others, the pros and cons of it depends on how we use it.