It is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels

literature at schools

Over the last few decades have seen dramatic ideas concerning the fact that literature including novels and poems do not need be taught at high schools as it is generally considered wasting students' time by many people. I completely disagree with this statement due to the reasons that is discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, some people may consider the literature as a useless subject due to the fact that computer or science subjects are more likely to profit students in the future as well as the society. If they focus on their main field of study they could perform better at universities and get higher levels. As a result, they assume the literature as a mere subject when succeeding in their life and career.

However, literature is always the best to assist people to gain linguistic skills, which is the priority requirement in work places. It is undeniable fact that most employees give more attention to candidate's social and communication skills, which is certainly shaped by studying literature.

Furthermore, being familiar with the novels and poems would give the students an opportunity to broaden their horizons in terms of their cultures and traditions. In other words, students are supposed to taught about the history and unique cultural issues of their nation via novels and poems. For instance, the poem that boasts the native land describing its rare beauties and wonderful natives should probably make the reader love their country arousing their patriotic feelings. Therefore, literature is an essential subject and should never be taken away from the students.

In conclusion, I would totally disagree with the people who support eliminating literature from high school,as it may bring more benefits to individuals.