ielts essay : water should be always free. governments should ban bottled water.

question :water is a natural resource which should be always free. governments should ban the sale of bottled water. at what extent do you agree or disagree

ans:

People, all over the world, hunger for a clean safe water since our ecosystem including lakes and rivers is polluted and damaged in a diverse ways.

As such, water, which is a natural resource that should be free in fact, has nowadays become a popular means of commodity. Although it is a basic right for human beings to have free access of water, In my opinion, I do not think it is necessary for governments should ban this practice for the following reasons.

There are people who prefer bottled water over tap water. They may believe that bottled water tastes better than the ordinary one. And also, they might feel healthier when drinking germ-free bottled water, despite the fact that there is hardly any difference between bottled and tap water in terms of quality. Therefore, governments cannot ban this production as long as people, both in developing and developed nations could afford and have a particular choice over this bottled water.

likewise, governments themselves benefitted through this system. Numerous private water companies have been mushrooming than ever before, since many governments do not have enough fund to provide clean and safe water to its civilians. However, it is possible for governments to utilize the money, which has come through taxation on these industries, in a positive way. For example, it can be used for public services like road, health and education system. Therefore, it might be a huge loss for them if they decide to ban this business.

In summary, I would like to argue that governments might not be able to ban bottled water sale, since it is people's choice whether to drink tap water or bottled water. Moreover, there is no need for a government to ban this practice when it itself benefitting through this business.