ielts essay about water shortage

Fresh water scarcity is problem at a staggering rate of growing population. Although water covers seventy percent of the Earth's surface, lack of clean drinking water impacts on billion people everyday.

In my view, water scarcity can be attributed to human activities like agriculture and industry. For example, today agricultural irrigation accounts for two thirds of global water use, which is the largest portion of water in consuming. So depleted was water resources that they were unable to meet ever stronger demands with agriculture, despite of the fact that water is considered a renewable resource in many parts of the world.

Another reason is that water contamination due to elevated industrial production. Large amounts of industrial waste are discharged daily, which is the main causes of contaminating both groundwater and surface water supplies. Problems of water pollution lead to exacerbating fresh water shortage, also effecting human and ecosystem health, hinder economic and agricultural development. Our environment would get caught up in a vicious circle of water pollution and water scarcity.

That's the reason why we cannot ignore fresh water is essential to environmental ecosystem and our lifeblood. Therefore, governments, industries, and individuals are all responsible for keeping fresh water shortage to a minimum. Authorities should take draconian measures by enacting environmental lows, and give partly subsidized to companies. Companies not only invest in developing alternative energy instead of using water but also use eco-friendly technology in sustainable development. Meanwhile, citizens had better raise the public's awareness of recycling waste.