IELTS TASK2:The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences.

Please give me a score after you read my essay and tell me all your suggestions! thank you! I would appreciate!!!!!

essay: The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of the soaring rate of traffic accidents has sparked off an intense concern among the public. Some people claim that imposing harsh punishments on those committing driving crimes is the most essential and efficient way to alleviate this disturbing problem. Personally, I disagree with this opinion.

To begin with, posting traffic wardens to busy intersections contributes to improving road safety. It is undeniable that a considerable number of traffic accidents occur as drivers start to take chances when there is not a policeman around. Therefore, if there is adequate traffic guardians can effectively regulate the flow of traffic, then the occurrence of vehicle collisions would be dramatically reduced.

In addition, traffic facilities should be developed and well-maintained by governments. Unarguably, in some developing countries, traffic infrastructures such as traffic lights, footpath and so forth are so under-developed and simple that it is easier to cause severe traffic accidents on overcrowded roads. Thus, enhancing the construction and maintenance of traffic facilities would largely reduce the rate of vehicle collisions. Besides, governments should elevate individuals' awareness of the importance and seriousness of safe driving by launching relevant community activities and non-commercial advertisements to convey and disseminate the knowledge about traffic rules and regulations, which enables individuals to become more cautious and dedicated while they are driving.

Admittedly, severe punishments and stringent regulations have a deterring effect in the realm of people committing driving offenses. However, this measure can just scratch the surface of the problem. Only can well-designed transport facilities and individuals' elevated consciousness of safe driving be acknowledged as the ultimate and fundamental measures to improve the road safety.

To conclude, I concede that harsh punishments, to some extent, exert a positive impact on improving road safety.Nevertheless, I am still convinced that other actions should be taken into account to achieve the harmony and safety of roads.