The only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

Hi all,

This is my first time using this website. Please help me to review my IELTS essay. Any advice will be helpful. Many thanks!

Q:

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

waste recycling and the law

Ans:

It is true that there is just a little amount of household waste be recycled. While some people criticise that the best way for government to increase recycling is make it a legal issue, from my perspective, I agree that regulations are not needed for recycling.

To begin with, there are several reasons why others hold the opinion that laws are required. Firstly, people tend to fear being punished. With punishments, such as fines, it is effective to make people recycle more waste. Another benefit of regulations on recycling is that there are clear guidelines for household to deal with the rubbish. Take one-time plastics for example, if there are fixed sigh and methods for how to recycle them, it is easier for families to recycle them. Therefore, the quantities of waste be recycled can be effectively risen.

On the other hand, personally I support the idea that governments do not need to put regulations on recycling waste. The most essential measure is to let people be aware of the impacts of rubbish. Only by realizing the reasons for recycling can people make their efforts to recycle more. Besides, recycling should be a voluntary activity of everybody. It is more efficient for people to recycle their household waste by self-control, rather than establish various regulations to improve recycling actions. Finally, instead of laws, governments can use motivations, like rewards, to stimulate recycling.

To sum up, perhaps laws on recycling of household waste are beneficial, however, I still believe that there are a variety of methods aside from regulations for governments to increase the amount of recycling.