IELTS - In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

TASK:

Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

ESSAY

Undeniably, people are now enjoying one of the greatest technological boom times in humankind history. The issue of whether the improvement of technology has impacted individuals' relationship is of great interest to sociologists. The widespread use of modern technologies, from my perspective, make cheaper, more convenient and more effective communication available for people, which have been witnessed a positive trend.

To begin with, the invention of telecommunications had dramatically and constantly changed the way we keep in touch with our acquaintances. To elaborate, thanks to the availability of mobile phone, we are now able to contact with our relatives with a comparatively low price, as opposed to the traditional but expensive way, namely, telegram. Furthermore, with internet access, such applications as the MSN, the Twitter and the Facebook enable individuals to communicate with their remote or abroad friends by more convenient ways. Social networks, therefore, can be maintained by people simply and effortlessly as people not only can talk with their friends in the chat rooms, but can even play with their friends in stimulating virtual games. Most essentially, colleagues, currently, can be communicated effectively and efficiently in the work place as a result of the introduction of the video conference and the database based on Cloud Computing Technology. Stories abound in present society that employees can perform many tasks at home while communicating with colleagues via Internet.

Admittedly, the recent technologies have more beneficial consequences in personnel relationship. For individuals, not only that citizens are more than capable of maintaining connections with their acquaintances anytime and anywhere, but even that we have been given greater autonomy in social activities. For the society as a whole, the information can be shared, transmitted and spread cheaply and freely, which can open up more opportunities for entrepreneurs and further promote business in terms of effectiveness and efficiency at the same time.

To recapitulate, the technologies have influenced people's relationship to a larger extent, with resulting changes impacting communication patterns continuously and profoundly. Neither should sociologists neglect the impact of technology on people's life, nor should we ignore the beneficial development of modern technology.