GRE; Welfare of the nation and the desire of corporations to maximize profits

TOPIC:

"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

MY RESPONSE:

The statement links welfare of the nation and the desire of corporations to maximize profits. When one considers these two entities, one can see that they are intermingled. The corporations and their actions have an extensive impact on the general welfare of nation. The impact however, may be positive or negative depending on the type of action.

When we consider the action of maximizing profit, one may say that it will hamper the national welfare. The reason being, while maximizing profits, corporations have to sideline important aspects such as national benefit, safety. When corporations take a path for their own development and profit, they tend to prioritize in an order where national welfare is at the lower end of the queue.

However, one may argue that the maximizing of profits by corporations will after all help to improve the national economy. As profits earned increase, so will the national wealth. When profits are maximized, the benefits are received by a lucky few. What reaches the masses is still the same. The overall welfare of the nation is jeopardized.

I conclude by saying that increasing profits is going to benefit the nation only to a certain extent. A desire to maximize profits beyond that extent will only conflict with the national welfare. Hence, corporations have to consider these factors before taking any actions.