"Wild animals never kill for sport"; killing animals (argument synthesis)

British historian James A. Froude once wrote, "Wild animals never kill for sport. Man is the only one to whom the torture and death of his fellow creatures is amusing in itself." Today dog fighting is illegal in all fifty U.S. states. Unfortunately, underground crime rings continue to train and fight dogs in cities and towns across the country. According to The Humane Society's animal fighting expert, John Goodwin, "there are an estimated 40,000 professional dog fighters in the United States." As an example, NFL star quarterback Michael Vick is currently serving time in prison for his involvement in dog fighting.

The history of dog fighting traces back to its origin in ancient Rome. In the United States, it dates back to the 1800's, but it did not become part of the American culture until 1817. Surprisingly, the United Kennel club endorsed dog fighting until the 1930's. Experts think that the causes of dog fighting have changed over the years. The Romans considered it a "blood sport," purely for the entertainment of the people. Today dog fighting, although still for entertainment, also enhances self-image and gang status, but its main purpose is illegal betting. Dog fighting is cruel and inhumane and it inflicts negative effects on animals, children, and the community.

Consequently, these dogfighters usually have violent criminal backgrounds and often deny any wrongdoing. The most common defense is that, "we're not hurting anybody, because the dog's love to fight, so what's the harm?" (Forsythe and Evans). Some dogmen (those who handle the dogs in the fight) defend dog-fighting saying that "dog fighting is no different than boxing," (Forsythe and Evans) but boxers are not forced to fight they choose to fight. Dogs on the other hand are forced to fight and are usually very reluctant to continue. Often these dogfighters are involved with gangs, illegal betting, as well as the sale of, use of, and possession of illegal drugs. This kind of social behavior and illegal activities are degrading the cities and towns that we live in. Because these dogs are trained to viciously attack and kill, it has increased the likelihood of dog attacks on people. Dogfights usually take place in abandoned homes and buildings that eventually become infested with animal feces, blood, rats, and decaying carcasses. These locations after discovered are torn down, but the negative effect on the community remains.

In addition, dog fighting is desensitizing the young children of America, often present at dog fighting events, to violence and animal cruelty. For example, a survey conducted by the anti-cruelty society at schools in Chicago, discovered that students are well aware of dog fighting in their neighborhoods. One out of every six children admits that they have attended a dogfight. They are also exposing these children to extremely dangerous situations consisting of drugs, guns, gang wars, and viscous dogs that are trained to fight and kill. These children are taught that this is an acceptable way of life and are encouraged to engage in these horrible activities.

Finally, one of the most obvious and disturbing effects of dog fighting is the pain and suffering that the animals endure. Dogfights take place in a "pit" (small arena enclosed by plywood) and average an hour in length or until one of the dogs can no longer continue. The dogs subjected to this sadistic sport suffer severe injuries that do not receive veterinarian attention and they often end up dying from the loss of blood, shock, dehydration, exhaustion, and infection. Furthermore, if a dog loses a fight and somehow manages to stay alive, the owner will usually torture, starve, or just outright kill the dog, in order to regain the respect of the other dogfighters within the community. Other animals, most often pets, are stolen and used as "bait"(small animals used to train fighting dogs), often suffering before their death.

In spite of the federal and state laws that have been legislated to help stop dog fighting, dogfighters continue to run their underground rings, bringing in millions of dollars. When caught, they can face jail time and fines. However, they consider these fines part of their operating cost. Dog fighting has no positive effect on society, but instead takes millions of tax paid dollars to control it. It is particularly disturbing that people involved in dog fighting thrive on the violence with no guilty conscious for partaking in or attending these saddening events. It is very important that we teach children around the world that it is not acceptable to mistreat any form of life weather it involves people or animals. Likewise, it is also important that people are aware of the signs of dog fighting. If one suspects that it is going on in their neighborhood, they should notify their local police station.