IELTS wirting task2 subjects for university students to study

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

decision about curriculum in universities

Answer:

People's view differing in terms of whether university students should be given the decisions to choose the subjects they want to study. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that there are some benefits to let students decide their own study courses. The main reason is that in the modern era, new developments are throughout integration of knowledge from different fields. Without confining students to study in the particular courses, they are able to learn knowledge in wide range of areas and possibly apply in their works in the future. Furthermore, most university students are in their young age, so they need chances to try different fields. Making students to only learn the subjects which seemingly useful in the future not only restricts the possibility to explore their talents but also ignore the fact that they might not be suitable or not interested in studying those courses.

On the other hand, some people argue that university students should study some particular subjects which are arranged rather than base on their interests. It is true that being skilled in a specific field will be more practical than choosing courses without any study plan. After all, it may be risk if students learn courses in various areas and end up having no talents. Moreover, in this way university will be able to ensure their students learn some basic and useful subjects which might at least help them to get a better jobs after they graduated.

In conclusion, I believe it will be more appropriate for university students to study some particular subjects as well as the optional subjects they are interested in.