IELTS writing task 2: Should women join the army? Just like men do.

women in the military?

Some people think women should be allowed to join the army, the navy and the air force just like men.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a group of individuals believes it is necessary to make it possible for women to serve in the military, treating both genders equally. I strongly agree with this statement and will discuss several reasons behind this support.

First of all, while a small minority of men may feel indifferent whether or not women have to serve in the military, most men would feel being unfairly treated. This is not at all surprising as men will have to make sacrifices after agreeing to serve in the military: labor force experience, a romantic partner, and time. To illustrate, John, one of my friends, had to serve in the army for five years; accordingly, he lost work experience and his future wife - Mary. Mary could not postpone her marriage any longer as her parents forced her to do so. Therefore, most men would prefer pursuing their dreams during those years instead of working in the army.

From a female perspective, although most of them may feel reluctant to join the army, provided that they are rational, a few of them may take it as an insult. This type of women, in particular, believes that by not letting women serve in the military, society will continue to discriminate people based on their gender, most women will never be promoted to a higher position, and they will never be able to live a happy life. For instance, two of my female friends have always been experiencing discrimination at work, and they believe that one of the major factors that has contributed to sex-based discrimination is the fact that women are not permitted to serve in the military. Therefore, it would be a win-win situation if women are allowed to serve in the army.

Finally, it is also vital to have the same number of men and women in the army - a 50-50 split - as both sexes need to learn more about one another; otherwise, they will not be able to communicate with each other effectively once they finish their military duties. It is extremely likely to end up working with the opposite sex at work; in fact, in most organizations, women make up about half of the workforce. Peter - he finished his military duty last year - finds it arduous to work and get on with women in the workplace due to a lack of experience. This has resulted in him being fired without notice.

In conclusion, most men and some women are of the opinion that women should have an opportunity to serve in the army; otherwise, they will feel being mistreated. And given the importance of being able to communicate successfully with women for men, women should be given a chance to enter the military. I therefore, firmly believe not only men but also women have to serve in the army.

It would be great if someone could give me an approximate score for this essay.