IELTS WRITING TASK 2: WOMEN'S RIGHT TO CHOOSE PROFESSION

Some people think that women should have the same right as men to choose profession. Others, however, believe that women are less able than men to do certain jobs. Discuss both those views and give your own opinion.

People have discrepant views about women's right to choose profession. In my opinion, though men are more suitable than women in some jobs, it does not deprive women of their equal status in the job market.

It is true that some professions tend to be more popular with one gender than the other. For instance, men are more likely to become software programmers and drivers, while women are more likely to become fashion models and nurses. This is due to their different characteristics. Men are better at logical thinking and physically stronger, while women do better in arts and delicate work. Although opportunities of education have been provided equally for both sexes in recent years, we cannot deny that males and females still appear to have different preferences when picking majors. Therefore, it is natural for some people to think that women are less able than men in some areas.

However, accepting the difference between male and female is not the same as sex discrimination. I believe people should be recruited according to their ability and qualifications, and gender is unlikely to be included as a job requirement on most occasions. Furthermore, a considerable number of women have proved that they can also be excellent in men's traditional fields. Examples of female scientists and generals can often be found in history books. Therefore, we cannot deny women's right to be successful in certain fields in their own ways.

In conclusion, it seems to me that profession should be chosen on the basis of gender equality, despite the fact that men and women are sometimes talented for different jobs.