Women should stay at home and raise children: Do you agree or disagree

Topic: Some people think that mothers should spend most of their time raising family, and therefore the government should support them financially. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples based on your own experience.

For years men were known as breadwinners and mothers' responsibilities limited to tasks done inside the home such as cooking, bringing up children, and the like. However, as time passed, some major changes occurred in the society and women took more social roles. In spite of such changes in the social structures of families, there are still some people who support the traditional-style families and believe mothers must be housewives, instead receive financial helps from the government. From my perspective, this opinion is debatable because of educational, psychological and social reasons.

The critics of the modern families think that women who spend their time out at works do not have enough time to look after their children, thus, it negatively influences their children. However, I think the effects of working mothers on their kids can be positive, in particular in their education. Nowadays, mothers with a job need to be educated too. In other words, having a job and achieving a degree in the today's world are intertwined. Therefore, a mother who possesses a university or college degree can help her children in their studies. Many empirical sociological studies revealed that children whose mothers have got an academic degree are more successful in different subjects compared to other students.

In addition, the participation of women in social activities is not all about financial issues. Women as human beings hurt from a monotonous life. I have faced many housewives with no satisfaction in their lives solely because they have been doing the same set of activities at home every day without having any interaction with people. Such a situation would steer women toward a deep depression, jeopardizing the mental health of the society at a higher degree.