Work place or research updates will help universities in showing direction to educate students

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Basically universities should focus extensively on giving access to practical and real time industrial knowledge. Any information which is completely understood is called Knowledge when it is experienced called Realization. Thus, I strongly believe that universities should design their courses based on modern research and skills needed in the workplace.

Firstly, every university has many departments, these departments have different courses and these course's have enormous amount of data or information in different faculties. So, practically it is impossible for any university to educate students with all the information in particular course or field. For Instance, In Physical Science department there are many topics like Light, Sound, Magnetism, Electricity, Nano Science, Quantum Theory etc. Based on recent updates most of the physics research these days is highly focused on Quantum Theory or Theory of Everything. Research on Sound or Electricity is obsolete.. I mean rather than focusing on out dated topic universities should help students mostly on recent research.

Secondly, Business Programs all over the world are mostly preferred by employee's from diverse fields. Employee's can be from Food Industry, Software Industry, Automobile Industry and Construction Industry. So, universities should function based on the recent work place requirements in these industry which might help students invariably to update their knowledge. For example, renowned psychologist Daniel Goleman's ground breaking New York best-seller "Emotional Intelligence" was an unknown subject before 1995. However, every top-class university has included his topic "Emotional Intelligence" into business course curriculum.

Therefore, giving knowledge for it's own sake by university might be obsolete without including recent break through. Work place or research updates will help universities in showing direction to educate students or employee more on specific topic, no body can drive a car by reading books it is a practical experience. Thus, universities must strongly focus on giving practical, relevant, research and work place knowledge.