IELTS WRITING TASK 2 : WORK OR TRAVEL BETWEEN FINISHING HIGH SCHOOL AND STARTING UNIVERSITY STUDIES

Topic :

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Disscuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Becoming teenagers are the most enthustiastic thing in our life. So many people, especially youngsters think that they should spend one year doing everything what they love, like travelling or working. I found there are three advantages and disadvantages for them who decided to do this.

Have a nice year to consume is very excited obssession. First, they can enjoy their life! They can visit new places and will meet new people with different languages and cultures. Second, because of it, they will become a new person and have new perspective about life. They have time to learn how to be a good open minded person, how to respect each others and they become more mature. Third, youth who choose to work, of course they can save their money, so they can use their own money to pay education's tuition.

But there are also three disadvantages for them. Spending one year to travel seems to long. They will become older when they enter the academy so that they will meet younger students. It's harder for them to interact with new friends who have different gap of age. Second, they need to learn again for exam. One year without studying activity made them forget many lessons that why it is more dificult for them to pass the test. Third, in the country like Indonesia, which the citizens have a lot of thing to talk about ( you can call it gossip) youngsters get more pressure from their environment and it is not easy for them. When they meet their neighbour, they will get many questions about what are they doing right now, why they did't enter college, why they are not using time briefly and it will make their parents think twice to allow their children use one year to work or visit new places.

In conclusion, although adolescents expend one year to work or take a trip make them more mature, but they need to work hard to surpass the university examination.