Work and travel for a year? - do not forget to read enough books and improve your knowledge

In some countries young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There are some young people who prefer to work or travel to some country instead of entering university after finishing school. Even though they have several reasons for doing so and may gain huge advantages, still, taking a break from studies from studies also carries some drawbacks.

Many young people want to study at universities, no matter whether they are situated in their home country or abroad. However, to archive this goal they often face with financial problems to pay for their tuition fees at universities. Apparently, having a good paid job they can save enough money to continue their education. This is true mostly in undeveloped and developing countries.

In the same way, there are young people, especially from developed countries, who can allow themselves to travel around the world. By travelling to other countries they can get a huge life experience which would be useful for their future studies. In addition, if a young man wants to develop his/her language skills of the country where he/she wants to study, living abroad for one year is also a good option.

However, one of the disadvantages of not entering university after finishing school is that some people can change their mind during one year of working or travelling. They tend to think that they are able to make a carrier without higher education, and as a consequence, they refuse to be a student and get a university diploma. Besides, as they start getting to forget some knowledge gained at school, they might not have enough time to prepare for university entrance exams.

In summary, I think that it is possible for young people to work and travel for one year before entering university, if they work hard and do not forget to read enough books and improve their knowledge in order to enter university.