'working in an individual way and get the grades is better' - TOEFL

Universities often require students to finish projects through teamwork and give each team ember the same score. Do you think this is good?

Give specific reasons and details to support your opinion.

There is a hotly debated issue over whether it is good for university students to complete some teamwork and get the same score as each other, and this topic can also be approached from several different angles due to its complexity. Some people tend to believe that this idea is great, while others seem to stand on the opposite position. After deeply pondering over this issue, I also develop my own perspective. I favor the latter; that is, I do not think it is good.

The first reason lies in the inevitable fact that one of the most important purpose for university students is learning to be an independent person. The independent person has higher likelihood to succeed in the future, and a fitting example of which can be found from my uncle who was graduated from UCLA. He said that he always do project by himself in order to avoid wasting time on socialize with friends. Owing to the faith that people should get the grades belonging to them to show their value, he is unwilling to do some teamwork and share the same grade. And now, he is a boss of a prestigious company. Therefore, we can start to agree that doing some works alone is good.

Apart from the one I have mentioned above, another equally crucible aspect is it is not reasonable to give the same grade to all the members of one group. For instance, I had been a leader of a team doing a project in my university. Without exaggeration, actually, I completed the all tasks myself lacking of any aids from my teammates. And we just get the same scores. It is really not fair to me as a diligent student to get equal scores to those lazy partners. Hence, from this case, we are capable of stating that students must obtain their grade by evaluating of their efforts.

Admittedly, on the other hand, there must be some dissidents proclaiming that it is not only conducive for the students to do teamwork in university, but also plausible for them to get the same grade, because they can learn how to cooperate with people. However, from my very limited understanding, I just doubt the credibility of that saying. As my own experience explained, I had done a project in a team, while I did not learn any concept of collaboration from it. In contrast, I only learned how to survive in a isolated predicament and endure sharing my valuable scores to other sluggish people.

Based on the reasons demonstrated above, I believe that working in an individual way and get the grades they deserved would be better because the advantages of this are qualitatively greater than that of the opposite. In other words, it is not good for those students to get the same grades in the same team. It is not to say, of course, that other points of view are completely without merit. Still, I am firmly convinced that the reasons I proposed in favor of my sentiment is much more tenable and cogent.

BTW: personal question( I spent 39 mins without proofreading. I just wonder how to express an example well with just a few sentences. I think I spent lots of time on examples. Is the 4th paragraph optional?)