Working as a volunteer after school time could be beneficial and mandatory.

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school program

Working as a volunteer after school time could be beneficial and mandatory. In my point of view, I partly agree with this opinion because of some drawbacks could be associated with it.

There are some benefits from working charity work, which could bring more practical perception about life to students, particularly high school students who will be the main labour in next few years. It is easily seen that nowadays, some work need soft skills, communication skills, and social understanding which could be accumulated by doing unpaid work. Thus, working as a volunteer after school time would be a good preparation for their future careers with practical skills. Furthermore, unpaid community service could reduce the rich and poor gap which is one of crucial issues in the modern society. When young people do have some free time, helping children in an orphanage with some basic work such as teaching a sport or playing with them would relieve their lost and give them more positive view about life.

However, there would be another story if all students are obligated to do unpaid work that could bring some negative effects. For some poor students, working part time jobs after school time is becoming popular. In fact, to have enough money for growing university institution, they have to work after school and there would be a burden if they are forced to serve community for free. In addition, it could affect negatively to both kinds of students who are not interested in working voluntarily and some are too eager to work. It is clear that students who are not keen on doing unpaid work would do it ineffectively and the other who are very fascinated could be distracted from their study.

In conclusion, while it would be really useful activity for students to participate in community services, but also it would be better if it is in voluntary form and there is will be no force and rules for doing unpaid works.