IELTS Writing Task 2 - In many workplaces online communication has overtaken face to face meetings

In many workplaces online communication has overtaken face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many workplaces have replaced real-life meetings with internet conversations. I argue that the pros of this situation surpass the cons.

People believe that the transfer of work skills and knowledge online is challenging. This is because it is difficult to demonstrate the techniques for completing certain tasks on a two-dimensional screen. For example, it would be ineffective to showcase the proper way to handle a screwdriver during the assembly of automobiles. However, this argument is invalid since modern technology can solve this problem. Cameras can revolve around to capture the movements of instructors from multiple angles and interactive 3D models can explain the details clearly to viewers. Instructors can post graphs and annotations on the screen to maintain interests and attention from the audience. In practice, it facilitates teaching since it helps people articulate ideas with less ambiguity.

Others think that it lowers employees' morale since supervisors are not physically present. Workers would take longer time on their tasks and attend to personal matters under less pressure from senior staff. For instance, they can take long breaks and chat with their family and friends over the phone during office hours, ultimately decreasing their productivity. On the contrary, this is not true since online communication platforms enable employers to track the work progress of their teams at regular intervals. Some sophisticated systems even record and alert managers if there are violations of company policies.

In summary, online communication has taken over in-person meetings in a great number of workplaces. The upsides of its interactivity and traceability of work progress exceed its downsides of reduced ease of teaching and lower work morale.