IELTS Writing task 2 - Most of world's problems are caused by over-population.

TOPIC: Most of world's problems are caused by over-population.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ANSWER:

The world today is faced with many problems and I believe the root cause of them is over-population.

The booming population is the underlying reason of financial crisis worldwide since decades ago. Unemployment rates have been strikingly high in many countries due to computerization. Labors are freed from repetitive work and numerous occupations become outdated. On the other hand, thanks to medical advancement, people enjoy a longer life span, increasing expenses on pension for governments. It is no wonder why governments of several countries (Iceland, for example) went bankruptcy.

When it comes to another major concern - environmental problems, over-population again should be blamed for. Global warming, caused by excessive gas emissions and over-reliance on air-conditioning, has led to the melting of glaciers and a rise in sea levels. This, of course, has a lot to do with a rising population who are indulged in modern conveniences. Also, animals are losing their habitats, making room for the humans and their concrete jungles. Consequently, species have gone extinct at alarming rate.

Furthermore, over-population has contributed to many sensational political disputes. The need for petrol has been on the rise due to the demand of increasing drivers in both developed and developing countries. This, however, has caused conflicts between oil providers and buyers, bringing about sanctions and wars. Moreover, countries fight sovereignty of territories for interests and so-called well-being of their fast-growing population, at the cost of many innocent lives.

In conclusion, the uncontrolled population has been the fundamental reasons of global financial, environmental and political problems.