TOEFL:It is only worth watching movies that can teach us something about real life

People nowadays have various preferences about movies. Some people are addicted to comedies and sci-fi movies while others are attracted by serious movies that can teach them something about real life. From my perspective, although the serious movies do bring some benefits, it does not mean that they are the only kind of movies that are worth watching. The film industry can be added variety, thanks to Cartoon films and sci-fi movies that entertain us in different ways, and they also deserve our appreciation.

Admittedly, people can learn a lot about real life from serious movies. For instance, a student, who fails the physics exam, in a bad mood may feel better after watching the Forrest Gump, in which he learns the importance of optimism and persistence from the classical lines "Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are gonna get". And the student could become positive and continue to make progress in the near future. However, to say that serious movies are the only type of movies worth watching is an overstatement.

Firstly, if audiences are offered only one movie type, they would be unwilling to buy movie tickets, which takes a toll on the whole industry and even finally lose their interest in movies. Consequently, it gives rise to the huge economic losses and severe destruction on the industry. According to the latest report released by China Film Group Corporation (CFGC), only 2 percent of the movies in 2010 are serious movies and it is estimated that the industry would lose about 1.2 billion dollars if providing serious movies only.

Besides, there are plenty of excellent movie types, such as comedies and sci-fi flicks, which are also worth watching. They provide a temporary escape from the brutal reality for viewers and give us a way to relax. Mr. Bean is a case in point. Every time I see Mr. Bean play jokes on others or gets himself into trouble, I always burst out laughing. Sci-fi flicks help us think of innovations. Take the famous movie Star Wars for example. The hero uses a laser sword to fight with evil creatures and finally guarantee the security of the Milky Way galaxy. Those advanced technology used in sci-fi movies gives us an incentive to invent new things to make our life easier and more comfortable, also provides new ways to solve problems and teaches us to think in a brand-new perspective.

To sum up, it is inappropriate to assert that serious movies are the only ones worth watching since its drawbacks is far outweighing the merits it brought to us. In addition, another two types of movie, comedies and sci-fi flicks are of equal importance to our lives.