IELTS WRITINGS TASK 2. In recent years, more and more people tend to live individually.

In recent years, more and more people tend to live individually.

What are the causes of this trend?

Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

In contemporary life, people are becoming more independent in both work and life, which led to the mounting of individual living separately. Although some argue that this tendency brings more positive influences on society than their negative, I believe living alone can entirely have adverse effects on social development. I can identify two main causes, and two broad effects, which we will describe now.

Perhaps the main cause is limited financial resources. This can be seen in the constant rise in average cost to own a house containing many people, indeed, most average or low incomes these days are impossible to pay for a large house. For example, almost all blue collar employees receive low salaries monthly which just able to make end meets with small accommodation. Additionally, jobs in diverse fields involded distingused working time, meaning that people want to have their own pace of life instead of concerning about others difference.

Turning to negative effects, living individually, in other words would place a burden on the government to build more residential areas in order to serve the living needs of workers. Take Hanoi as an example, because of the growth in residents who mostly came from the countrysides, the government had to convert some infrastructures into social houses for employees. In addition, people are prone to suffer from many mental health problems such as depression, autism, ... as they have no one to share their stress in their daily life.

In conclusion,the factors behind the trend of living alone tend to be inadequate incomes or characteristics of jobs .The effects may include difficulties in house construction and mental issues.