Writng task 2: Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime.

Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime.

However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Do Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the reduction of crime rate will be accomplished more effectively through more qualified education rather than prison sentences. I personally disagree with this statement as both methods play crucial roles in handling illegalities.

On the one hand, it is reasonable/understandable to resolve the crime problem by sending criminals to prison. Firstly, prisons are places to keep dangerous criminals who certainly pose a serious threat to society such as murderers or terrorists. This will make these felons receive punishments for their heinous actions, ensuring the safety of innocent people. Secondly, severe prison sentences serve as a deterrent against unlawful acts. This is because lawbreakers have to confront tough struggles in jail, loss of freedom, and separation from their beloved ones. If criminals are obsessed with these physical and mental punishments, they may stop reoffending.

On the other hand, the reasons why education would greatly contribute to crime reduction are varied. Education could heighten people's intellect and therefore form a civilized society. With access to better education services, citizens would be aware of the consequences of committing crimes which eventually leads to the decrease in crime rates. Furthermore, when given a chance to receive an education like vocational training, criminals could seek job opportunities after being released from prison. In fact, former inmates could encounter numerous obstacles after a long time of being isolated from society. Thus, the possession of certain qualifications assists inmates to earn a living by their own labor power, which would dispel any ideas of committing crimes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that both incarceration policies and better education have major roles in coping with crimes.