[IELTS WRITTING TASK 2] Should universities be free? High cost of education, especially in Vietnam

free educational system

Question: Students should pay the full cost of their own university studies, rather than have free higher education provided by the state.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Answer:

The topic of university fee remains controversial, as some people feel that students should finance their own studies, while others argue that higher education should be supported by the government. Personally, I believe that university should be free to all students.

Firstly, the cost of education is much higher nowadays compare to the past, and this is especially true in Vietnam. Many students have to worry about the expense for accommodation, travel, textbooks,.. once they get into universities, and the high tuition fees will only exaggerate their financial problems. Not many are able to pursue their study without getting a job or applying for a loan, even if they get scholarships. This could greatly affect their study at schools, leading to poor results. Some may have no choice but to drop out, and in several cases, decide not to enter university at all. This situation only gives advantages to students with wealthy background, thus widen the already large gap between the rich and the poor.

Secondly, investing in education will certainly benefit society and the economy greatly. A free education system creates more opportunity for students, and when they graduate, they will no doubt have more refined skills and become valuable workers. As they receive high salaries, they will pay more in taxes and spend more money on goods and services, which in turn contribute to the domestic economy.

In conclusion, because of the many advantages of a free educational system, I am convinced that it is something we should try to achieve.