IELTS: Whether to have a year to rest after high schools continues to be a controversial topic

discuss about a gap year between school and university

topic: Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

esssy:

Whether to have a year to rest after high schools continues to be a controversial topic, and there are valid reasons on both sides. I will discuss it as follows.

One the one hand, the supporters of a gap year before university may think that students should be given time to think in-depth about their lives through the real world. Their explanations may as follows. For one thing, it is widely agrees that a majority of youngsters have no specific idea about their future. In this case, they may get into trouble when they need to choose the majors that they will study for, which is considered to be an important decisions in people's life. However, spending time in voluntary work and other social activities may help them find their missions and the aim of university education. For another, they can broaden their horizons by experiencing different cultures, job positions, etc. by a variety of activities during the period of time.

On the other hand, some parents points out the time wasting and safety issues if their children are encouraged to have a one-year free time after high schools and it might be the reasons why they are against the gap year. Evidence has shown that a large number of pupils may stay at home, playing computer games instead of stepping of their comfort zone to experience something new, which may led to the waste of their precious time in early adulthood. Furthermore, those young people who are not circumspect enough are possible to meet some problems such as robbery, drug addiction and so on, which threatens their lives.

In summary, from my perspectives, even though there are some concerns about gap year, the benefits of it still outweigh the disadvantages considering the positive impacts on young people. In order to avoid the negative factors, it is better to help students foster time-management and self-protection skills.