An IELTS Task 2 about Young vs Old leaders

Leaders and directors in an organisation are normally older people. Some people think younger leader would be better. Do you agree or disagree?

the age of leaders

It is true that today the leadership roles are prevalently held by senior staff members in many organizations. While some argue that young employees should be promoted instead, I believe that the old are more cut out for managerial jobs.

An indisputable reason for the outstanding competence of old people is their enriched experience. In a company, those who have many years of service under their belt often understand the organization and its business the most. They know what are the traps in the business and how not to fail, and such understanding is vital to the survival of a company. Young members, on the other hand, are not only new to the job but also are usually regarded as risk-takers. This is to say, there are chances that a young leader can drive the company out of business with some of his bold, half-baked ideas.

Another advantage of seniority is the ability to win others' approval, which plays the pivotal role in the success of a leader. Most of the time when an old man raises his voice, people would pay their undivided attention, and this is hardly achievable if the speaker has only a few years of working experience. Young people, on their way to leadership, must dedicate tremendous amounts of energy and time making contributions to prove their worthiness, so that people can trust and give them full support.

In conclusion, I hold the view that young people should be promoted with consideration. In long run, it is more sensible to hold the aged members in charge of leadership.