Young people will become competent leaders if they gt support and guide by senior person.

Most leaders or directors generally belong to an older age group, but some people believe that young leaders are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Most of the companies around the world headed by older man, whilst some believe that young leaders more capable to bring the company in achieving its target. I would argue that young people need to give a change to lead the company as long as they fulfill the requirements.

Position as a manager or director of a company is the dream of the workers. However, these positions are only given to certain people, and many companies are likely to choose older people to charge that position because of some reasons. Senior people considered to have profound experience of various situations and problems in the company compared to young people, so it can be used as primary capital to be cautious in determining major decision. Oil companies in Iraq, for instance, chose people with a minimum age of 35 years as one of the requirements to get the position of manager. In addition, placing an older man in strategic position, such as general managers or directors, was also founded on the psychological view. Subordinates will tend to respect and obedience on the orders of superior if they have a much older age.

On the contrary, in line with globalization and competition between co-workers, people began to realize that age is not a powerful reason to assign one's position. Nowadays, young people have a great motivation to increase its capacity meet the specifications as a leader, for example, have a wide knowledge and responsibility. Officer Development Program (ODP), for example, is a program of recruiting fresh graduates to be trained and prepared as a manager or supervisor. It is evident that, many companies, especially banks, are starting to see the potential of young people as leaders.

To conclude, although older people have experience that can be used as a main capital to lead the company, but I believe that young people will become competent leaders if they are supported and guided by senior person.