[TOEFL] Young People's Dependency on Changing World

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Young People's Dependency on Changing World

These days, people have different opportunities to take action about any situation more than the past. However, some people think that young people are still dependent their parents like as the before. These people who think young people are still dependent their parents have some aspects such as economic dependence and constant cultural values.

Firstly, the main reason why young people are still dependent their relatives is economic dependence. Young people study at high school or university. They need money to take care of themselves. However, they have a busy schedule and challenging lessons their school life, and even they want to earn money harshly they could not make money because of their busy schedule and hard lessons. So that, they should take money from their parents. For instance, a student who is studying medicine away from her home country needs money to make a living. She cannot work any job because of her busy schedule. Her family help her to study so that she will depend on her parents.

Secondly, another reason why young people still depend on their parents is constant cultural values. All countries have various cultural values about different subjects. Individuals who have cultural values teach children their cultural values on children's earlier lives. Children grow with their cultural values. Consequently, they will have the same opinion about different subjects like their parents have. For instance, a person who raises with the idea that we should pray before eating for gratitude God will continue to pray after he left the homeland. He will still depend on his parent's belief.

As a result, some people think that young people still depend on their parents. These people have strong points such as economic dependence and constant cultural values. If someone wants to be independent should study hard much as the past.