Young people face more problems than adults. Do you agree? [IGCSE]

#WRITE AN ARGUMENTATIVE ESSAY ON THE ABOVE TOPIC

I agree to that statement. Of course, as an adult, many responsibilities lie on one's shoulders. Be it of maintaining a family or duties at work. Though it can all be summarised in just a few words, they undoubtedly are of great importance, giving way to one too many hurdles along the way. That being said, life is definitely not problem-free for the average teenager.

Naturally, in one way or another, everyone faces a situation that is difficult or seemingly impossible to deal with. Social life, studies or the mere desire to explore can give way to needless complexities for the youth.

Certainly, adults have their own share of problems. These definitely are greater than insignificant teenage heartbreak. However as for an adult, there are usually pre-planned solutions or through previous experience, a possible solution to the problem. For instance, if job dismissal is a problem facing the adult, there are rapidly increasing opportunities for new jobs. Being in a state of debt, financial advisors are available to assist the adult and draw steps to follow which lead them out of the problem. On the other hand, teenagers might be completely unaware of how to resolve a problem and would be seeking the needed guidance from other places. Though not always, they sometimes receive the wrong type of advice from peers and resort to actions such as smoking.

The average youth is keen to try new things in this ever changing world. Exploring and experimenting can surely be of great importance as it gives the explorer a chance to discover him/herself. However, some actions are not of any importance, e.g. substance abuse. On the other hand, an adult would probably have grown out of the stage of experimenting. (S)He would be aware of the results that follow the action and avoid it.

Another issue the youth face is pressure through the media. Magazines and television programs constantly feature romance related headlines. Teenagers being at a stage where they are no longer children nor are they adults, are trying to discover their own identities. They are trying to fit it. This causes them to give in to pressure without much hesitancy.

Furthermore, distractions such as dating and substance abuse ultimately disrupts their studies. Parents have hopes for their child, and (s)he would have personal goals set out as well. A relationship tags along pressure, as there are responsibilities and expectations from both partners. If the teen finds it difficult to cope with pressures from a relationship as well as studies, (s)he would encounter failure in both.

What it all comes down to is that, although teenage problems do not seem as difficult as those of adults, they lack the maturity and skill to deal with different complexities. Consequently their lack of skill and understanding towards a situation can sometimes lead to further problems or make their existing problems more difficult to deal with than those of adults.