IELTS: Do young people have much greater influence nowadays than it was?

Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

The modern world made it easier for young people to express their beliefs and thoughts. Advancement of the Internet increased the activity of young people in the life of their community. Hence, it can be said that the youth has a strong influence on the governments and different corporations nowadays. The essay will explain why this practice is the case and show what kind of impact on the relationship between old and young people this situation has.

To begin with, as it was said before, the Internet has opened up certain avenues for young people in terms of political life of the society. Any information or event in one part of the world can easily reach the other, due to the Internet. It seems to make some governments afraid of young net users and accept certain steps to have some control over them. For example, in Turkey, Twitter became very popular among young people who were opposite to the government. This site, as a result, was banned. However, the government of Turkey received some accusations from the EU about human rights abuse. Therefore, it can be said that young people appear to have the power to make them hear.

On the other hand, this influence may affect negatively the relationship between older and younger generations. Young people, because of their nature, tend to express opinions that are not correlated with the hardened views of the older ones. This kind of discrepancy also had a tendency to happen in the past. However, nowadays modern technologies might make this practice more likely to be carried out. Consequently, the gap between the generations may become even wider.

Given the evidence, in the modern world the youth is able to interfere in the public life more freely and affect some events they are not concerned with. Nevertheless, this power has some significant drawbacks.