IELTS:Young people today are more likely to help others than young people in the past

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today are more likely to help others than young people in the past.

More and more citizens recognize that being helpful is always one of the greatest virtues. While some people argue that youngsters in the past are happy to help others, I believe that the new generation are more willing to offer help than the one before it, for the promotion of first-aid knowledge, advance of technology, evolution of social media and the expansion in volunteer programmes.

Firstly, with the first-aid knowledge having been introduced into class, youths are now more capable of helping others. Nowadays, a youth are able to save a drowning person. However, youngsters might lack the ability to do rescue breathing a decade ago because rarely school set the first-aid course as mandatory.

In addition, since technology is developing, youngsters are more able to help others. Equipped with a smart phone, present-day youths are more able to locate themselves via the GPS system and then call for a rescue crew when youngsters found a wounded person in a remote forest. Instead, a mobile phone was unaffordable for adolescents in the past.

Furthermore, the social media enable youth to pay attention to needy people. For example, if a disadvantaged group ask for help by posting on Tweeter, the information may be forwarded and circulated. Thereby, youngsters, one of the main user of Tweeter, are more willing to help the group. Without social media, it is difficult for a youth to discover the social issue and offer help simply through one-way media.

Lastly, with charity being increasing fashionable in schools, young people are more likely to participate in volunteering organizations in order to help needy people. For example, there is a growing number of college students who tend to become volunteer teachers in the rural areas.

In conclusion, although the predecessors have offered a lot of help to others, today's young people are more willing to help others.