Should young people have the obligation to volunteer for community service when they are available?

Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that young people have obligation to volunteer for community service when they are available, which would eventually bring advantages to both the single and the whole society. However, I disagree that we should compel all teenagers to do charitable work.

Most teenagers are students, who have been already under great pressure with their studies. In school, they have many subjects and skills to learn; even after school, they also need to do a lot of homework and practice exercises for exams, let alone some of them have to go to part-time work in order to share household expenses of their families. When young people do have some free time, we should let them relax themselves, or encourage them to explore and develop their own interests. In short, I think their priorities should be their studies and make good preparations for their future life.

At the same time, I have my doubts that our society can gain anything from obliging young people to do unpaid work. If people do good deeds not from the bottom of their hearts, it loses its meaning.

This not only goes against the values of a free and fair security but also leads to resentment amongst young people, who would feel that they are just used. We should inspire them to help others willingly, instead of forcing them by moral coercion.

In conclusion, it is wrong that making it mandatory for all teenagers to do unpaid work in their leisure time, and in my opinion they have rights to choose whether they want to do it or not.