IELTS: more and more young people go oversea for further studies. Some people think it

Question: more and more young people go oversea for further studies. Some people think it is a positive development while others think it brings negative effects. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, studying oversea has become a topic of frequent discussion among the whole society. Some people think that going abroad for education brings many benefits, while others hold different views. This essay will review the pros and cons of oversea study.

Enhancing language ability is the primary benefit for youngster to study oversea. This is mainly because they have to apply foreign language on their daily life such as during university and shopping. For example, university study in oversea often contains group assignment and presentation. After three years continuously practice foreign language, oversea student will surely improve their communication skills and writing skills. Apart from the language advantage, studying oversea also provides a better opportunity for future employment. Those oversea returnees have received advanced education in developed countries, which means they have better understanding deal with foreign events. In this case, they are both welcomed by local and international companies.

However, going oversea study alone can also be seen as a challenge. Being alone in an unfamiliar country sometimes can give rise to sense of loneliness. Without friends and family being around, those oversea students could feel helpless when they meet challenge from livelihood and academic performance. Consequently, they may start to lost interest in pursuing their oversea study. In addition, studying in most developed countries have certain financial burden on an ordinary family. If youngsters are not fully prepared and have not a clear plan about their future, the needs of advanced knowledge and valuable experience will not be achieved. In that case, they have waste their parents money and they are no different with those who study in their own countries.

To conclude, although oversea studying seems very attractive in terms of enhancing language and supporting future career, it is only true for those individuals who have a clear purpose about their trip. Otherwise it is only a waste of money and time.