Young people work or take long journeys between graduating from high school and entering tertiary

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Taking a gap year

Task 2:

In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In this day and age, it is true that taking a gap year is not a strange topic. More and more people, especially young people are supported to work or take long journeys between graduating from high school and entering tertiary. In this essay, I will point out some benefits and drawbacks of this idea.

There are many prominent advantages of taking a gap year before becoming a new student at college or university. Firstly, spending free time after a long time studying hard is an advisable way to unwind because students have to learn toughly during twelve years at school. Moreover, working and traveling also provide young people with a lot of precious experiences that help them a lot with their studies or the jobs in the future. During the time going outside, they have chances to meet different kinds of people, they get opportunities to explore more about this life so they can figure out some knowledge which they can hardly get from the formal training at school.

On the other hand, spending time working or traveling before joining a higher level of education is still opposed by some individuals, especially the elderly because of its disadvantages. It is said that taking a gap year makes young people lose their passion for studies. After having a long holiday, they get bored and tired of accepting new knowledge from the learning environment and they can also forget a large number of lessons they received at high school. Another point to consider is that if they work outside for a year with their high school diploma to get personal experiences, they may get difficulties in finding suitable jobs relating to their hobbies and abilities because jobs' requirements nowadays are rigorous.

All in all, though there are some arguments about the upsides and downsides of taking a year off after finishing studies at school, I do believe that young people are wise enough to make the right decision whether or not they should have a gap year.