Youngsters demanded to do social works in their leisure time in order to help the poor and disabled

SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT ALL TEENAGERS SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO DO UNPAID WORK IN THEIR FREE TIME TO HELP THE LOCAL COMMUNITY. THEY BELIEVE THIS WOULD BENEFIT BOTH THE INDIVIDUAL TEENAGER AND SOCIETY AS A WHOLE.

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

helping others not mandatory for teens

Many people argue that young people should be demanded to do social works in their leisure time to help the poor and disabled. While I accept that this view, I also believe that students should spend more time to study than taking part in social activities.

On the other hand, I agree that young people should be encouraged to do social activities to help the elderly, the poor or contributing to protect the environment. When they participate in local activities such as cleaning rubbishes or looking after old people in nursing homes; as a result, They would learn some of valuable social skills, for example, communication skills and teamwork skills which would be useful for them to enter the labor market after graduation. Another benefit of helping others is that students have opportunities to apply for scholarships, for instance, some of full scholarships and partial scholarships require candidates' social experience. In terms of the profits for society, the government would reduce a part of the cost of caring for old people or protecting the environment.

At the same time, I do not agree that youngster should be involved in social activities too much. Young people have under a lot of pressure from many subjects on an educational program; therefore, If they didn't have time to refresh themselves, they would be exhausted and suffered from various health problems. Students also need to spend more time to fulfill their courses that is very important to gain a good degree in order to find a well-paid job in the future.

In conclusion, teenagers should focus on their study, and they may be a volunteer in spare times, but In my opinion helping others should not be mandatory for them.