Task 2 - Youngsters spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons?

youth spend less time with their families

With recent technological advancements such as social media, which were made to bring people closer, has now made them more distant than ever. This is true in the case of teenagers and even young adults, who tend to not spend time with their families. This essay will discuss two reasons behind it, and I believe there are more adverse effects of this trend than positive effects.

First, the rising popularity among social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram has caused a strain in the family's homes. In 2017 a study found that youngsters aged 13-22 spent nearly 8 hours a day browsing through social media applications. Youngsters use this as a distraction from being productive and achieving their goals. It affects their grades at school and also prevents having good communication with their parents. To solve this, parents should limit the hours their children can use at home and also spend quality time talking with each other.\

Secondly, most adolescent children get introduced to drugs early on in their teens. Drug abuse among youngsters in American households is more common than any country in the world. It affects their health and causes trauma to family members. It also lowers a sense of responsibility to their existing family and even their future family. To curb this problem, educating kids about drug abuse would immensely help them from becoming addicts.

In conclusion, both social media and drug abuse have led youths to spend less time from their families. This trend has serious negative impacts on people's lives and their families and can only be controlled by educating and teaching family values.