Youth crime, reason and solution

The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries.

Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

lost teenagers involved in crime

It is considered that the conviction rate among adolescents is drastically increasing all over the world. This phenomenon can be attributed to the advanced Internet and lack of proper guidance, while involvements from government and parents regarding to this issue are indispensable.

Firstly, Internet contains overwhelming information, and teenagers are unable to identify the inappropriate materials due to their immaturity and recklessness. Those improper contents, for instance, would lead teenagers astray and result in committing crimes. One particularly salient example is that juveniles are participating in drug smuggling and prostitution activities due to the promotions of social media. Furthermore, youngsters are often lacking of proper guidance from their parents in the fast-paced lifestyle, and it would advance/deteriorate the situations of juvenile delinquency. Hong Kong is a case in point. Working parents are too busy to educate their children with correct values.

Nevertheless, figures of authority, especially government and parents, shall pay additional effort in dealing with youth crimes. Prevention and deterrence are often considered as viable solutions to avoid youngsters from breaking the laws. Counsel and attentions shall be provided to their children in order to reshape the concepts and practices about committing crimes. Stringent legislation of young criminals shall be imposed to discourage adolescents from committing crimes.

In conclusion, I believe that the surging rate of youth crimes can be contributed by Internet advancement and lack of proper guidance. Education and counselling are likely to be the gate of prevention, while stringent regulation can enhance the deterrence from younger criminals.