TOEFL;In 20 yrs, fewer cars in use ? only when the substitutions are available

In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Talking about cars, it is now still the main transportation in the world, but it does seem to decrease the use of it for the great environment damage it caused. On the other hand, on the way to decrease the use of cars always full of difficulties.

First, it is obvious that nearly everywhere on this planet are running cars, which cause serious traffic jam in some urban area. Though cars are useful, it become one of the top problems to human. People have thought a great number of solutions to solve this problem and have made progress in this issue. For example, the government in my city considers enlarging the size of public transportation to satisfy the people's daily demand. In this project, the government bought nearly 100 buses and redesigns the bus's routes. And this project really works. In the first month, the number of cars was decreased 5%. On the other hand, some NGO started a movement called "pick up your bicycle", it encouraged people ride their bike when go to work or school, and even short-distance travels. I also take part in this movement by riding bike to school. Sometimes volunteers may disguise as passerby and surprisingly give you a gift to reward you for participate in the movement.

However, cars are not easy to decrease in a short time for they are still the most convenient transportation to people. Throughout the history of transportation, thought cars are not the first transportation that human used, it's obvious that they are the most effective. Cars make people's life more convenient and comfortable. People use cars to carry contraction materials to built their house and make traveler easy to arrive places where they want. In the meantime, the fuels that cars used are easy to get for the technology are advanced, and since there are no substitutions for cars to make contribution to human, cars will not become fewer in the a short time.

To sum up, the number of cars is decrease only when the substitutions are available and public transportation are fully developed.

Hoping you can give me some advise to make this essay seems more local:)