IELTS writing task 2 - zoos are cruel or can be useful. Discuss both view and give opinion

Topic:

Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be shut down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of whether or not zoos need to be maintained. While some say that zoos are merciless and should be closed, I personally believe that they would keep animals safe from extinction. This essay will discuss the two viewpoints.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why zoos are considered immoral places and should be banned. Firstly, zoos are often aimed to entertain people and earn money from them, which means that zoos held animals not because of conserve, but because of making profits. Secondly, from a moral perspective, many zoos limit the freedom of their animal by providing poor-quality environments and facilities. Research has shown that the house of animals in zoos is far smaller than that of them in nature. This prevents animals from doing daily activities the same way as they do in the wild, which is likely to make them feel depressed and develop mental illnesses.

On the other hand, I would argue that zoos play an integral part in preventing animals from extinction. The fact that excessive hunting and poaching have led to numerous animals' disappearance, which is because their body parts are seen as luxury items and status symbols. Take rhinos as an example, they are killed or held in captivity because their horns are highly valued on the black market, pushing this species to the brink of extinction. As a result, Zoos act as shelters to protect them from poachers and these immoral behaviors.

In conclusion, although some people believe that zoos must be prohibited, I am of the opinion that Zoos can help protect wild animals from extinction.