Corporate newsletter answer - GMAT AWA essays rated?

Please give me feedback on this essay. Please give a rating between 0-5 as it is on GMAT AWA section...Eagerly waiting for all your replies.

The following appeared in the editorial section of a corporate newsletter.

"The common notion that workers are generally apathetic about management issues is false, or at least outdated: a recently published

survey indicates that 79 percent of the nearly 1,200 workers who responded to survey questionnaires expressed a high level of interest in the

topics of corporate restructuring and redesign of benefits programs."

My answer:

The author of the editorial section of a corporate newsletter makes an argument that the common notion that workers are generally apathetic about managment issues is false or outdated. The author supports his argument by a survey which indicates that 79 percent of the nearly 1,200 workers who responded to the survey questionnaries expressed a high level of intrest in the topics of corporate restructuring and restructuirng of benefits programs. Although the argument seems to be convincing, it appears problematic in two critical respects.

First, the argument is based on the results of a survey that 79 percent of employees expressed high level of intrest in managment issues. However the author fails to look for a gap in the assumption in that the 79 percent of the 1200 workers may be actually dealing with the managment work only. Therefore, these employees may actually represent the employees who already work as managers and so will obviously have a high level of intrest in topics mentioned.

On the other hand, even if it is considered that all the employees who responded positively to survey are not managers, they could be employees who have expressed their interest in the restructuring because these employees could get actually benefited out of the participation in the programs. The employees may be participating actively for their own special benefits that have nothing to do with the other managment issues.So, it cannot be rightly concluded that workers are apathetic about managment issues is false.

All in all, it can be said that this is a weak argument. To strengthen the argument the author should have a more detail analysis not only on the results of the survey but also on the basis of survey, like the ones mentioned above. Only when the author rules out other possible factors and could conclude that only the survey results are necessary and sufficient for the above conclusion, will make the mentioned conclusion feasible.