Do the Right Thing Violence Paper

Anything I should change, or add?

Prompts/Instructions

Write a paper and answer these questions.

How has violence affected my life?

What are the causes of violence?

What can I do about violence?

Do the Right Thing

Violence affects 70% of every household. Violence has affected many lives, many things cause violence, and many people including myself try to prevent it. I have been affected by violence, my family has been affected by violence, and many other people have been affected by violence. After being affected by this I would like to find the cause and share what I think would work to solve such a wide spread problem.

Violence affected my life in a big way, not the fighting violence with punching and kicking, more like bullying. When I was younger I was bullied all the time. People I knew would bully me, people I didn't know would bully me. They would call me horrible names like "Werewolf and Hairy Arms" . Boys would ask me was I supposed to be a man because I had a mustache. I would just ignore them and walk away acting like I didn't care, but deep down inside I was crying a waterfall of tears. It got so bad that I would just wear my jacket every day to cover my arms so they wouldn't see the, I thought if they couldn't see my arms they couldn't call me "hairy arms". I wore my jacket every day to lunch after that, even if I was burning up, I just didn't want to be called hairy arms.

Just like many people are affected by violence, there are also many causes of violence. People are so exposed to violence rather easily today, you just have to turn on the TV to see a violent gun scene in a movie, or buy a fighting game to play on the game system all day. Being exposed to so much violence could cause violence too. Another way violence happens is when people bully others. People who experience bullying to teasing can become enraged enough to begin acting out in revenge. Usually when people act out in violence it usually due to a variety of reasons, not just one.

What can I do about violence, not start any of it and help stop it. The less people start violence, the less there would be in the world. Bullying is a factor in violence, so I could help stop bullying. I wouldn't join in my group of friends being mean to somebody, I would be different and stand up to the,,coven if it means they wouldn't like me anymore. I would speak up for the people who couldn't, help them have a voice to stand up to their bullies, and help them tell an adult they trust. I could help people express their anger in a nonviolent way.

In conclusion, violence is everywhere in the world. Many people have been affect by it, and they will be affected by it again. There isn't one specific cause of violence, but many cause contribute to making someone express violence. People have the option to help people stop violence, but many people wouldn't want to step out of their comfort zone to help people they can't speak up, speak up.