TOEFL: students participating in class discussion as investment for their future

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

University students should not be required to attend classes. Instead, they should be able to receive credits through a final test or paper.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Response:

Whether students should be required to attend classes to get through their college years has greatly attracted much social concern. Many people propose that university students should be tested by having a final paper to receive credits. Personally, however, I absolutely disagree with this proposal.

Initially, what I put on my priority is the future preparation. It is apparent that when not being urged to participate in classes, students may lack basic knowledge of their majors, which was mentioned by professor and discussed by the other students. As a result, this definitely be doing them disservice later in their lives. For example, my sister usually skipped her college classes, nevertheless, she still managed to get good grades. Later, when she graduated, no company accepted her application after they interviewed her. They found out that my sister really did not have essential knowledge of the job and she was obligated to find another jobs which was not as good. Despite her good grades, my sister still suffer from the shortage of basic knowledge of her major.

Furthermore, a hold no less important role is taking part in classes stand a golden chance for student to understand thoroughly the strategies to get good grades. It can not be denied that in each lecture, the professor do not only teach and explain the knowledge but also provide to students some useful tips to get a perfect score, which is not always written in any books or documents. It is beneficial for students to acquire the precious experiments from not only the teacher but also the other students. It is clearly seen that class is a convergence of many selected quintescene of knowledge. More remarkably, with regard to a student who do not have enough integrated or self - research skill, it is a challenge for him or her to understand clearly the subject as well as the strategy to get high grades. Actually, those students often get average and bad grades and fall into the situation that do not know how to overcome and improve their scores. In spite of carefully doing research, students continue acquire average capacity unless they attend classes.

In short, university students should be required to attend their classes in order to study better as well as understand thoroughly the way to get a perfect study result. I strongly believe that once students participate in class discussion, it is sure to be a resistant investment for their future. ( 410 words)