Child-centred practice ignores the individuality of children's needs. Essay regarding bullying....

Hi i have wrote an essay for my psychology assessment.could you give me some feedback please?Do you think I ahve defined the topic well or not?

This is the title:

Child-centred practice ignores the individuality of children's needs and is impractical for use when responding to bullying in a class room setting. Discuss.

During the process of this essay, I aim to establish the effect of child-centred practice within a school environment, and identify whether it has a positive or negative influence on individuality, particularly with regards to bullying.

To define child-centred practice in a working environment means being aware of children at all times. Every child has a right to a safe childhood, to grow in safety free from intimidation or too much responsibility. To focus on child practice in the classroom, teachers are to uphold the child's best interest. To promote child-centrism, the teacher must differentiate for each child in the class based on their abilities. A teacher must also recognise the potential of the students. However organisational beliefs in the workplace may be unaware or deny that there is any bullying occurring in the school. This belief needs to be explored and clarified. Besag's definition of child-centred states that it 'aims to enhance the emotional, social, and physical needs of the child' (Pg. 119). In any school, the individual needs of the child need to be met. Confidence and self-esteem are important aspects of child development and factors which can influence their growth could be their backgrounds, family structures, influences from school and peers, their temperament, development and behaviour. For an anti-bullying approach to be established in the school, these factors of a child's growth should be taken into consideration as all children are unique and their reactions vary to different situations.

Bullying others could be caused by negative social interactions with peers or inherited anger, which may cause a lot of stress and hatred. These children only learn to channel their emotions by inflicting hurt on others. Children with low self-confidence issues or a clash of personalities may be the underlying cause of the negative behaviour.

All schools need to have guidelines against bullying and procedures in place so that so that children can co-exist peacefully with students who aren't necessarily their friends and will protect them from bullying.eg; teachers emphasizing that both verbal and physical bullying will not be tolerated. This course of action must be planned and organised so that all teachers are aware of the procedures and are not alone in dealing with situations. Olweus (1987) defines bullying very eloquently in Bergas' book as 'a person who is bullied when he/she is exposed regularly and over time, to negative activities on the part of one or more persons' (p.3). In order to prevent bullying it is essential to provide a safe and supportive environment in order for each individual to feel secure and establish an element of trust. Drama is an excellent example of how this trust can be obtained through teaching, as not only does this create the comfortable environment, but also allows the children to express their emotions in a way in which they feel less daunting.When dealing with bullying behaviour in any way whether its activities regarding bullying of a child in the class or drama role-play, this issue needs to be handled with sensitivity. Children have a right to make their own choices but also need support to handle the situation and judge what method of action is necessary.

The 'No-Blame Approach' coined and adopted by Sharp and Smith is a child- centred one, as it 'focuses on the child's feelings. This method has seven steps and emphasises a constructive solution achieved through a participative, non-primitive approach which involves pupils themselves to resolve the problem' (p.88). This approach can be equally beneficial in the resolution of bullying amongst peers, as it highlights the importance of treating each situation as unique. Teachers and parents equally have a very significant role to play in identifying possible problems and resolving them in the most efficient and suitable manner to that specific incident. Parents need to inform the school if they feel that their child is being bullied and in turn the school has the responsibility to inform parents if their child is involved in bullying. Co-operation and involvement of both parties is necessary to establish a shared understanding of action deemed appropriate.

Teachers are role models to the children in their class. A school needs to encourage respect and self-worth to pupils by modelling this behaviour amongst staff members. A school's attempt to increase the child's self-confidence, self-worth and increase their social skills will be in vain if a system is not in place. In summary, I believe that a child-centred approach could be very beneficial to the learning process if this technique is used and monitored in a controlled environment, however, it is vital to remember that a child's best interest is of utmost importance. It is essential that both the school and the individual teacher are supported in order to achieve optimum results with this method, and in turn the pupils will gain in confidence and self-belief, whilst improving their social skills.

To conclude, child centered practice has a positive effect on the individuality of children's needs, and is very practical when responding to bullying in the classroom.