[TOEFL] Choosing a job is a critical decision in the life of every person.

Choosing a job is a critical decision in the life of every person. Many parents want their children to have similar jobs with them, while the children may not want to have these jobs. Personally, I agree that children should choose careers that are similar to their parents' careers, because children can gain useful help from their parents and they easily follow the steps of their parents in the future.

First of all, the children can have advice from their parents. Because of the similar careers, parents can share their own experience in jobs with their children, which is like that a skillful worker is teaching a new one. For example, my brother is an engineer, which is similar to my father. Last month, he had to deal with a project in his company and he got stuck in a problem. With the help of my father, he overcame it and had a suitable solution for the problem. Because my father is accustomed to the career so the advice of him is really essential and other members in my family cannot help my brother as useful as a skillful worker like my father. The story of my father supports that the similarity in job of the parents and their children will bring some benefits while working.

In addition, children can easily follow the steps of their parents in the future if they choose the similar jobs with them. If the parents is holding an important position in his job and flourishing in their majors, the children may inherit this success in the future. For instance, a man next to my house was a successful businessman and he has worked as a CEO in DIC, a famous company in Vungtau. Moreover, his son is well-qualified and has studied master degree in America in business field so after his father has retired, he can easily gain his father's position. In short, the prestige and the steps of the parents can be easily followed by their children if they have similar jobs.

To sum up, I think that it is better for children to choose careers that are similar to their parents' careers because they can have useful advice from their parents and they can follow their steps in the future. Nowadays, more and more parents are channeling their children in the road of choosing similar jobs with them.